diy on a budget: A

I’ve been tossing around the idea of doing an alphabetical “diy on a budget” series, and I’ve finally decided it’s good enough to let ‘r rip. So, since I’m destined to lead my life as a follower of the rules, I’m starting with A. Here goes.

A is for Acceptance.

Weird, right? Not if you’re like me – an impatient perfectionist, tackling projects one by one, carefully, and on a budget. You have to finally get to the point where you realize you aren’t going to get everything you want, or dreamed of, right away. That my friends is the land of acceptance, or reality. It doesn’t work like that – you just can’t snap your fingers and expect everything to happen overnight. Life doesn’t work like that – and it shouldn’t. If it did, life would be vanilla. And yes, while I admit that vanilla is good every once in a while, it’s much better when you add in a little fudge, maybe some caramel, whipped cream, and crushed waffle cones!

That’s where acceptance comes in. You have to accept that it takes time. Time to save, time to figure out exactly what you want, time to figure out where the decorations go or how to place the furniture, and time to get the work done. You have to accept that you’re going to make mistakes. And you have to accept that everything isn’t going to be perfect. Remodeling, redesigning, renovating, whatever “re” word you want to use, it takes a lot of work, a lot of thought, and a lot of heart.

So, I’ve accepted that. All of it. I’m saying bring on the toppings. Forget the vanilla, I’ll take the sundae. And if you’re in my shoes, doing what I’m doing and pouring all of yourself (and all of your paycheck) into making your place what you dream it to be…you’re going to be a lot happier if you accept it, too.

The question is, what do you need to accept? Please share! You’re in good company, and I’d love to hear from someone…for selfish reasons. Someone please tell me I’m not the only one struggling! *wink

humble homeowner, accepting that she’s on the right path

2 thoughts on “diy on a budget: A

  1. This is how I felt after I had my first child… it took me a long time to accept that my house wasn’t going to get a thorough cleaning every Saturday morning anymore (if ever.) The dog hair that wafts through the house STILL annoys me at times and I have my threshold for what I can tolerate… but being with my kiddos- loving them, interacting with them, and teaching them is WAY more important than dusting… even if I’m sitting on a dog hairy floor doing it all. So while we DO vacuum at least once a week, many other things have been thrown to the curb (like actually brushing the dogs so the floor is less hairy… vicious cycle I know.)

    However, I promise to clean the toilet seat before you visit next time ;)

  2. Acceptance: the realization that even when you have the money your proposed renovation is a horrendous investment and shouldn’t be done if you ever want to recoup your funds. That sucks.

Leave a Reply

